What is TOGAF: 12 Reasons to Get a TOGAF® Certification in 2023

What is TOGAF? TOGAF (The Open Group Architecture Framework) is a development method companies use to plan and design IT architectures.

The first version of TOGAF was built in 1995 based on a technical architectural framework created by the US Ministry of Defense (Department of Defense).

Shortly after, the framework was submitted to The Open Group Institute, which has handled it to date.

TOGAF is used to help organizations design an IT infrastructure tailored to their needs. This is where the role of the TOGAF professional is needed.

TOGAF experts will develop and implement a fast and effective IT strategy and communicate it with various department heads.

What is TOGAF: Advantages

TOGAF takes a high-level approach to companies’ framework to plan, design, implement, and manage Enterprise Architecture.

Enterprise Architecture is divided into four domains (data, technology, applications, and business). It relies heavily on existing product standards and technologies.

Organizations implementing or planning to implement an enterprise-wide technical infrastructure to support the implementation of mission-critical companies using open system building blocks will benefit from using TOGAF.

Professionals who design and implement architectures using TOGAF principles will enjoy design and procurement specifications that help facilitate available systems implementation while reducing the risks involved.

TOGAF training and certification are also beneficial for those interested in working on IoT projects.

Reasons Why You Should Join TOGAF

We’ve put together 10 reasons to join the TOGAF training:

1. High demand for enterprise architects

As IT technology and architecture become increasingly integrated into the success of an organization. Advanced companies generally use TOGAF to plan their company’s business architecture, whether managed in the long term or short term.

2. Understand the language that is commonly used

TOGAF professionals share common knowledge and expertise that can help you better identify business needs. Working as a TOGAF professional requires a lot of communication.

You plan and implement the IT environment for your organization, which requires you to interact with other professionals.

You learn to speak the language common to all professionals in your field. This makes collaboration easy and lets everyone join in on your ideas.

3. Phased Approach

This enterprise architecture exam has two levels — Foundation and Certified. This Approach allows professionals to learn the basics and build on them as they become experts.

4. Increase your salary and career

PayScale shows that the average salary in the US for TOGAF-certified professionals starts at just over $80,000.

5. New Opportunities

Big companies like banks, hospitals, and other industries will trust your skills and look to you to solve their company management problems. Big companies trust certification. The simple reason for this standardization.

6. Better Meet Your Company’s Needs

Most organizations look for ways to do their best with the least amount of time and effort. This principle is the focus of TOGAF.

TOGAF training trains you on how to perform tasks with efficiency. This training can reduce your company’s costs and increase its profit margins.

7. Improve Your Managerial Skills

TOGAF blends technical aspects with IT management and, as a result, is a great stepping stone for an aspiring manager. TOGAF professionals often design IT infrastructure with everything in mind.

You must consider and weigh different perspectives when implementing a project. This experience makes you an advocate for a management role.

8. Validate Your Skills

TOGAF is a recognized certification. Along with architecture running the company, several other certifications share the same handle as TOGAF. TOGAF certification is a mark of trust.

Companies trust your expertise and knowledge when it has been validated by the TOGAF certification.

9. Networking Opportunities

As with all certifications, earning a TOGAF certification means you can meet other professionals in the same field. You can develop contacts, understand new trends in the industry, and share ideas that can enhance the TOGAF principles.

10. There are no prerequisites to join the course

Unlike others, TOGAF has no requirements to take a certification. As a result, professionals looking to launch a career in IT architecture will find it easy to do so once they are certified.

What Do They Do?

As a TOGAF professional, you will act as a “simplifier” who can demystify complex technical processes.

Developers and technical leaders will greatly assist TOGAF in mastering enterprise architecture principles and ensuring a career path to higher positions.

Enterprise Architects, or EAs, develop an organization’s long-term IT strategy — which supports the overall business strategy.

They create technology and application maps to guide and direct organizations – based on the TOGAF technology infrastructure standard.

EA ensures all aspects of the technology flow are clear and that IT and IT-supported processes run smoothly from start to finish.

As generally working on transformation programs in various fields, managing meetings and projects, this work also includes:

1. Architecture Strategy: all aspects of an IT architecture strategy, including determining the current state, transition, and desired path for the system.

2. Architecture Review Boards: periodic stakeholder meetings that discuss and approve current architectural changes.

3. Portfolio Management: this deals with the health and status of the IT infrastructure.

4. Governance Committee: a stakeholder committee that makes decisions on standards to be used, policies, and protocols, particularly on security and requirements.

5. Technology Lifecycles define how changes and versioning will be applied to the various technologies used by the organization.

In short, TOGAF Professionals ensure alignment between organizational goals and objectives and aspects of information technology.

Often considered a strategic management role, TOGAF professionals are in high demand, particularly by large organizations.

In addition, those interested in working on IoT projects may also benefit from TOGAF training and certification.

TOGAF Certification Details

TOGAF Certification and Exam Details:

1. There are no prerequisites to take the TOGAF 9 Level 1 (Foundation) course. Anyone can handle it.

2. The TOGAF 9 Level 2 exam requires you to complete Level 1 before starting it.

3. If you fail the exam, you can retake it after 30 days. However, you are only allowed to try it 3 times per year.

4. The TOGAF 9 certification for individuals has yet to receive updates.

What is TOGAF: Pillars

1. Business Architecture

Explaining information on business strategy, governance, organization, and how to adapt to processes that are already running within an organization.

2. Applications Architecture

In the form of a design plan for structuring and deploying application systems related to business objectives, other organizational frameworks, and all the roots of business processes.

3. Data Architecture

Organizational data storage definition, management, and maintenance activities, including logical and physical data models.

4. Technical Architecture,

The activity describes all hardware, software, and IT infrastructure needed in developing business applications.

Leave a Comment